If you are facing drunk driving charges and have a prior DWI conviction on your record, the stakes are enormous. You could face felony charges, depending on the circumstances and your driver's license is at risk.
At Messer Law Firm, we know how to fight serious DWI charges for clients from Asheville, Hendersonville, Buncombe County and throughout western North Carolina. With more than 15 years of criminal law experience, board-certified attorney Al Messer is prepared to defend your rights, your freedom and your driving privileges.
Contact us today at 828-398-0823 to arrange a consultation with an experienced Asheville felony drunk driving attorney.
Multiple/Habitual Offender DWI Penalties
While the punishments for a first-time DWI offense are harsh, they are that much harsher if you face second or subsequent charges.
|Second offense||Up to $1,000||7-12 months||Mandatory revocation of four years if convicted within three years of first offense|
|Third offense||Up to $2,000||14 days-24 months||Mandatory permanent revocation if one of the prior convictions occurred within the last five years|
|Fourth offense||Up to $4,000||One-three years||Mandatory permanent revocation|
Aggravated Level One DWI
Recent changes in North Carolina DWI laws have made punishments for certain offenders much harsher. Under the new statute, called "Laura's Law," a person who is convicted of DWI and has three or more grossly aggravating factors is charged with an Aggravated Level One DWI.
Aggravated Level One punishments include up to three years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. Those convicted also face other post-release restrictions, including complete abstinence from alcohol consumption.
Contact A Buncombe County DWI Attorney
Serving Clients Throughout Western North Carolina, Including Henderson, Buncombe, Haywood And Madison Counties
If you face multiple drunk driving charges in Buncombe County or a surrounding area in North Carolina, it is important to consult with a skilled DWI defense lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us today online or by telephone at 828-398-0823 to arrange a consultation with an experienced Hendersonville and Asheville felony drunk driving attorney.